The task of formation of candidates for the priesthood requires not only a certain special preparation of those to whom this work is entrusted, one that is professional, pedagogical, spiritual, human and theological, but also a spirit of communion and of cooperating together to carry out the program, so that the unity of the pastoral action of the seminary is always maintained under the leadership of the rector. The body of formation personnel should witness to a truly evangelical lifestyle and total dedication to the Lord. It should enjoy a certain stability, and its members as a rule should live in the seminary community.

Pastores Dabo Vobis §66


For more than 100 years, priests of the Society of Saint Sulpice have served the seminary community as rectors, offering years of experience in seminarian formation and a rich Sulpician legacy dating back to the mid-1600s.

1917-1924; 1926    Rev. Francis Havey, S.S

1924-1925               Rev. John F. Fenlon, S.S.

1926-1931               Rev. J. Benjamin Tennelly, S.S.

1932-1944               Rev. Anthony Viéban, S.S.

1944-1949               Rev. Lloyd P. McDonald, S.S.

1949-1968               Rev. John P. McCormick, S.S.

1968-1971               Rev. Eugene A. Walsh, S.S.

1971-1976               Rev. Edward J. Frazer, S.S.

1976-1982               Rev. Anthony F. Lobo, S.S.

1982-1986               Rev. Albert C. Giaquinto, P.S.S.

1986-1991               Rev. Lawrence B. Terrien, P.S.S.

1991-2002               Rev. Howard P. Bleichner, P.S.S.

2002-2007               Rev. Thomas Hurst, P.S.S.

2007-2011               Rev. Melvin Blanchette, P.S.S.

2011-2016               Rev. Phillip J. Brown, P.S.S.

2016-2020               Rev. Gerald D. McBrearity, P.S.S.

2020-2023               Rev. Dominic Ciriaco, P.S.S.

2023-                       Rev. Gladstone “Bud” Stevens, P.S.S.